Catechetical Leader Award

Bishop John J. McRaith Catechetical Leader Award

(Left to right) Fr. Larry McBride, pastor at Holy Name, Bishop William Medley, Sr. Margaret Ann Aull, and the 2017 recipient, Rose Wheeler.

The Offices of Faith Formation and Youth Ministry are asking for nominations for the Bishop John J. McRaith Catechetical Leader Award. The recipient of this award will be announced at the Appreciation Dinner for Catechetical and Youth Ministers on May 7, 2018 at the Fr. John Vaughan Center in Owensboro, Kentucky. Anyone from the Diocese of Owensboro may nominate an individual for this award.

Nominees should be (or have been) professional ministers working for a minimum of 5 years in the Diocese of Owensboro in the field of catechetics. Some ministerial roles to be considered are Director of Religious Education, Coordinator of Religious Education, Pastoral Associate, Youth Minister, etc.

The recipient of the award is a role model as an outstanding human being; committed to Diocesan, Parish and Community service; shows a deep sense of spirituality; is knowledgeable, and committed to continuing their intellectual, spiritual and collaborative growth.

The deadline for nominations is April 23, 2018. The Core Committee for Religious Education, consisting of the Diocesan Directors of Religious Education and Youth Ministry will discern and select the recipient.

All nomination forms should be mailed to the Religious Education Office, 600 Locust St., Owensboro, KY 42301-2130 or e-mailed to by April 23, 2018.

There are three ways to nominate someone.

  1. Print this form, fill it out by hand, and mail it to the above address.
  2. Use this fillable PDF form and either print/mail or submit it online.
  3. Use the below online form.